My partner suffers from Sleep Paralysis

The Nightmare, by Henry Fuseli (1781) is thought to be one of the classic depictions of sleep paralysis perceived as a demonic visitation.

The Nightmare, by Henry Fuseli (1781) is thought to be one of the classic depictions of sleep paralysis perceived as a demonic visitation.

I do not like things which are connected to the dark side. Things like Satanism and witchcraft I do not want anything to do with. I may not be the most active member of any church these days, and despite growing up with parents who were Atheists around the age of 22 I became what the Bible refer to as a born again Christian.

Since I have become a mother the world seems more real to me. When I was younger horror movies was my type of comedy and these days I can hardly watch them. Truth of the matter is dark things terrify me, which brings me to my point of composing this blog entry.

The person is awake in mind but the body is asleep.

Definition of sleep paralysis: So, sleep paralysis is a type of sleeping condition which can last from several seconds to several minutes, with some rare cases being hours. In addition, the paralysis is accompanied by terrifying hallucinations of demonic visitation. Sleep paralysis occurs either when falling asleep, or when awakening. The person is awake in mind but the body is asleep. The person remains aware while the body shuts down. Person is unable to call for help or sit up.

sleep paralysis

sleep paralysis

It terrifies me, to wake up during the night to the vague sounds of panic my partner makes when he has these demonic visitations during nights of sleep paralysis. Sometimes up to 4 times in one week I wake him up to get his out of it and other times he doesn’t experience it for 2 or 3 months.

Wake me up.

My own experience of sleep paralysis: When I was between the ages of approximately 7 and 24 I frequently suffered from a mild variety[1] of sleep paralysis. I call it mild because I never encountered any demonic visitation, thank God. What would happen was that when I was tired and about to fall asleep, my body fell asleep before my brain did which left me in a state where I was wide awake but couldn’t move my body or open my eyes and I couldn’t speak. I couldn’t grab the attention of anybody in our house to come wake me up. It was really frustrating, I tried to not panic and to get myself out of it I fought so hard to wiggle my feet and the body eventually woke up. I had to sit myself up and wake up completely because if not I would likely slip right back in to it. I knew everything that was going on around me, I remember hearing my mother around the house during these episodes.

Is sleep paralysis a mental disorder or genetic?

Because of my son I am wondering about sleep paralysis and genetic, if both parents have it then what could the chances be that the offspring will become afflicted by this. I hope for his sake that sleep paralysis is a mental disorder developed by situations in life rather than it being inherited.

[1]Note: I’m not educated in this area, referring it to a mild variety is likely not the correct term. Simply a way for me to explain myself & it.

The history behind sleep paralysis and in-depth explanation can be found on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep_paralysis

Leave a Reply

